Andrew Eccles for Variety

The Academy Awards aka Oscars is well-known for being the most prestigious awards in the film industry, but they are also notorious for being unpredictable. There are snubs and surprises every year, and this year is no exception.
Several upsets and surprises occurred during the 95th Academy Awards.

Some films that were thought to be shoo-ins for major awards (The Woman King – Viola Davis) did not receive nominations, while others that were thought to be long shots did here’s looking at you Andrea Riseborough ofTo Leslie. In any case, the 95th Academy Awards will be held on March 12, 2023, to recognize films released in 2022.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) organizes and hosts the ceremony at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss will produce the event, which will be broadcast on ABC. Austin Butler, Ana de Armas, Paul Mescal, Ke Huy Quan, Angela Bassett, Colin Farrell, Brendan Fraser, and Jamie Lee Curtis are among the nominees for the awards ceremony. The categories for which the statuette will be awarded are listed below.

Best picture

  • “Everything Everywhere All at Once” — Winner
  • “All Quiet on the Western Front” 
  • “Avatar: The Way of Water”
  • “The Banshees of Inisherin”
  • “Elvis”
  • “The Fabelmans”
  • “Tár”
  • “Top Gun: Maverick”
  • “Triangle of Sadness”
  • “Women Talking”

Best actor

  • Brendan Fraser, “The Whale” — Winner
  • Colin Farrell, “The Banshees of Inisherin”
  • Austin Butler, “Elvis”
  • Bill Nighy, “Living”
  • Paul Mescal, “Aftersun”

Best actress

  • Michelle Yeoh, “Everything Everywhere All at Once” — Winner
  • Ana de Armas, “Blonde”
  • Cate Blanchett, “Tár”
  • Andrea Riseborough, “To Leslie”
  • Michelle Williams, “The Fabelmans”

Best director

  • Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, “Everything Everywhere All at Once” — Winner
  • Martin McDonagh, “The Banshees of Inisherin”
  • Steven Spielberg, “The Fabelmans”
  • Todd Field, “Tár”
  • Ruben Ostlund, “Triangle of Sadness”

Best supporting actor

  • Ke Huy Quan, “Everything Everywhere All at Once” — Winner
  • Brian Tyree Henry, “Causeway”
  • Judd Hirsch, “The Fabelmans”
  • Brendan Gleeson, “Banshees on Inisherin”
  • Barry Keoghan, “Banshees of Inisherin”

Best supporting actress

  • Jamie Lee Curtis, “Everything Everywhere All at Once” — Winner
  • Angela Bassett, “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”
  • Hong Chau, “The Whale”
  • Kerry Condon, “The Banshees of Inisherin”
  • Stephanie Hsu, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”

International film

  • “All Quiet on the Western Front” (Germany) — Winner
  • “Argentina, 1985” (Argentina)
  • “Close” (Belgium)
  • “EO” (Poland)
  • “The Quiet Girl” (Ireland)

Best animated feature

  • “Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio” — Winner
  • “Marcel the Shell With Shoes On”
  • “Puss in Boots: The Last Wish”
  • “The Sea Beast”
  • “Turning Red”

Original screenplay

  • “Everything Everywhere All at Once” — Winner
  • “The Banshees of Inisherin”
  • “The Fabelmans”
  • “Tár”
  • “Triangle of Sadness”

Adapted screenplay

  • “Women Talking” — Winner
  • “All Quiet on the Western Front”
  • “Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery”
  • “Living”
  • “Top Gun: Maverick”

Visual effects

  • “Avatar: The Way of Water” — Winner
  • “Top Gun: Maverick”
  • “The Batman”
  • “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”
  • “All Quiet on the Western Front”

Original score

  • Volker Bertelmann, “All Quiet on the Western Front” — Winner
  • Justin Hurwitz, “Babylon”
  • Carter Burwell, “The Banshees of Inisherin”
  • Son Lux, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
  • John Williams, “The Fabelmans”

Original song

  • “Naatu Naatu” from “RRR” — Winner
  • “Applause,” from “Tell It Like a Woman”
  • “Hold My Hand,” from “Top Gun: Maverick”
  • “Lift Me Up” from “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”
  • “This Is a Life” from “Everything Everywhere All at Once”

Documentary feature

  • “Navalny” — Winner
  • “All That Breathes”
  • “All the Beauty and the Bloodshed”
  • “Fire of Love”
  • “A House Made of Splinters”

Documentary short subject

  • “The Elephant Whisperers” — Winner
  • “Haulout”
  • “How Do You Measure a Year?”
  • “The Martha Mitchell Effect”
  • “Stranger at the Gate”


  • James Friend, “All Quiet on the Western Front” — Winner
  • Darius Khondj, “Bardo, False Chronicle of a Handful of Truths”
  • Mandy Walker, “Elvis”
  • Roger Deakins, “Empire of Light”
  • Florian Hoffmeister, “Tár”

Costume design

  • “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” — Winner
  • “Babylon”
  • “Elvis”
  • “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
  • “Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris”

Animated short

  • “The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse” — Winner
  • “The Flying Sailor”
  • “Ice Merchants”
  • “My Year of Dicks”
  • “An Ostrich Told Me the World is Fake and I Think I Believe It”

Live action short

  • “An Irish Goodbye” — Winner
  • “Ivalu”
  • “Le Pupille”
  • “Night Ride”
  • “The Red Suitcase”

Film editing

  • “Everything Everywhere All at Once” — Winner
  • “The Banshees of Inisherin”
  • “Elvis”
  • “Tár”
  • “Top Gun: Maverick”


  • “Top Gun: Maverick” — Winner
  • “All Quiet on the Western Front”
  • “Avatar: The Way of Water”
  • “The Batman”
  • “Elvis”

Production design

  • “All Quiet on the Western Front” — Winner
  • “Avatar: The Way of Water”
  • “Babylon”
  • “Elvis”
  • “The Fabelmans”

Makeup and hairstyling

  • “The Whale” — Winner
  • “All Quiet on the Western Front”
  • “The Batman”
  • “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”
  • “Elvis”

- A word from our sposor -

From Snubs to Shocks: Get Ready for the Most Unpredictable Oscars Yet